image

image

image

The meal Levi and I shared for lunch this afternoon mimicked a recipe that I got from whole foods this week: easy chicken tostadas. Of course Levi and I don’t eat meat, so I had to tweak it a little bit. Instead of chicken I used quinoa and instead of refried beans, I used black beans and fire roasted corn. I began by cooking about a 1/4 cup of quinoa. While I waited for the quinoa to finish, I cooked the black beans and fire roasted corn (corn was frozen pre made from Costco) with a little hit of brown sugar in a pan. I cut up some tomatoes that I got from the farmers market yesterday (geez those were tasty), and sliced up an avocado. When the quinoa and beans were done, I built my tostada. The last thing I tweaked was the shell. Instead of a hard shell, I used a soft corn tortilla. Levi joked about them being tiny burritos, which I guess they can be considered that. But this was just a fresh new way to have a traditional tostada. After all was said and done, my tostada consisted of a soft corn tortilla, quinoa, black beans and fire roasted corn, cheese, diced tomatoes, salsa and sliced avocado. A light healthy lunch for my family. Oh! And I let Noah bean have a few bites of a corn tortilla. Jury is still out on whether he enjoyed it or not!
Until next time….
Have a fabulous day!

