image

image

image

image

This past month has been so amazingly busy. Noah has 6 teeth now! And I’m pretty sure he’s been working on more the past couple of days; the kid has been super fussy and taking more naps than usual. We went camping 2 weekends ago, and had an amazing time with my family. I so love taking Noah to places he hasn’t been and exploring things that are brand new to him. With all the craziness going on, I haven’t had a chance to try out any new recipes. But in the past 4 days, I have tried 2! And I think they were a success, although you would have to speak with my ginea pigs to confirm.
Saturday night, Levi and I drove down to Colorado Springs to hang out with some of my favorite people in the world, Levis brother and his wife, and their 2 little people (#3 is on the way). They cooked some deliciously tasty homemade pizza, and I brought dessert. Levi suggested that I make something festive, something fitting to the season. So I decided to make pumpkin chocolate cake, basically from scratch (I didn’t have fresh pumpkin). It was delicious, and extremely simple. I used fresh cocoa powder that I picked up at Whole Foods (sidenote- they sell their spices by the pound so I paid 48 cents for the cocoa powder, rockin deal), organic pumpkin puree, pumpkin spice, cage free brown eggs, sugar and pastry flour. I cooked the cake in a 9 inch round cake pan at 375 for about 45 minutes and it turned out fabulous! The recipe didn’t call for frosting, just a dusting of powdered sugar, which I did not do. I did, however, pick up a carton of pumpkin ice cream. Oh yes, I did. The two together were amazing, delicious. Well, at least to me. I like weird things, or so my husband tells me. It was a great time spent with great food and wonderful people. I truly wish we could spend more time with them, but their lives led them to live down in the springs, and that just makes the time spent with them more special.

So, Levi and I have been getting into little arguments throughout the week about the food I make, and how its either weird or I make too much of it and he doesn’t want to eat it for 3 days in a row. He wants simple, easy things sometimes. And so, I tried to listen. On Monday night, I asked him how homemade salmon burgers sounded for our new recipe this week, and he was actually excited to try them. And folks, it doesn’t get any easier than this for a homemade, simple recipe. Salmon burgers: one pound of salmon diced in a food processor with dill, scallions and bread crumbs. Then form into patties and grill for 10 minutes, 5 on each side. And they turned out amazing! Levi had 2 burgers! I made a little dill spread to go on them (its easy, just use dill and mayo or veganaise) as well as sliced cucumber. I served them with sauteed red potatoes and whole organic green beans. This is a great recipe I cannot wait to share with Noah bean. Raising Noah a vegetarian is very important to me, and we decided to put fresh seafood back into our diet as a great way to get protein and other essential nutrients a growing child needs. Maybe when I get more of a hang on nourishing a child without meat, we will omit seafood from our diets, but until then, I am happy feeding Noah fresh, wild caught seafood once and a while.
Well, this Friday, I am entertaining my mother and sister-in-law for dinner and have 2 new recipes to try out! More on that hopefully this weekend. I hope all is well with everyone who reads this,
More to come…
Have a fabulous day!

