image

Oh boy! I have been experimenting with new recipes a lot lately. Fridays have continued to be “new recipe day” at the Friedly house, and I cannot remember the last time I have missed. Last week, I took bbq quinoa to a party, and it was so good, there wasn’t any left over for me to take home. It was goooood! With just a little bbq sauce mixed with quinoa, avocado, black beans, corn and cilantro, it was the perfect dish for me to bring.
The week before, we tried a california roll salad. That was amazing! It was literally a California roll wrapped in a lettuce leaf, minus the nari (see picture above). What made the dish was the rice vinegar I used to mix the rice. Oh wow, Yum!
Well, new recipe Friday fell on Sunday this week, and this one was specifically for my Noah bean. He has had a runny nose all weekend, so I have been secretly sneaking him more veggies. I juiced some Apple, carrot and cucumber juice for him and he loves it! And for dinner, I tried out a new recipe I found called veggie cakes. They are so simple to make!
-8.5 ounces of corn muffin mix ( I used gluten free corn bread mix)
-3/4 cup of shredded zucchini
-1 egg (I used cage free eggs from vegetation fed chickens. I may not be vegan with my baking, but I cannot support factory fed chickens and eggs).
-3 Tbs of water (more like 5, the mixture is thick)

image

image

image

Mix these ingredients together and spoon into a hot pan and cook until brown with a little oil.

image

image

Noah ate two cakes and loved them! So I would say it was a successful recipe. Next time, I  will add some shredded carrots as well. Keep increasing those veggies!
On Wednesday I am attempting to make pad thai- so excited! I will definitly keep you posted on that culinary adventure!

Until next time….
Have a fabulous day!

