It has been a wonderful month. We hosted many occasions, dinner parties, a house warming party and attended birthday parties galore! But now it is time to settle down and get back into the swing of things, like meal planning and implementing my new budget. No I have not started it yet because well, let’s face it, you can’t throw a house warming for 30 people on a $50 budget. Nope, not this girl. Although I haven’t gone over board, I still haven’t maintained my $50 a week budget yet, and the bills just keep on coming. So it is time. The majority of our $ goes towards fruits and vegetables, as everyone’s should. And I tend to go a little crazy at Costco with all of their bulk produce and plethora of snacks. I will admit, I have no self control when it comes to shopping at Costco. I get talked into buying the majority of samples, mostly because I feel bad for taking one and not buying it.
I  working with a $100 budget the next week and a half, until Levi gets paid on the 5th. So far I have spent $58. I went to King Soopers last night and bought groceries, mostly for dinner this evening. I invited my in laws over for dinner and as expected I will be trying out a new recipe. I am super excited about this recipe. Sweet potato and black bean burritos smothered in an avocado and salsa Verde sauce. My mouth is watering just thinking about it! This recipe basically took my whole budget for this week, but I am anticipating leftovers. Plus, I have stalked my spice cabinet with some new spices. Yay!

The key to staying on budget every week (and eating vegetarian) is keeping your grains and protein in stock by buying them in bulk. The majority of my budget will go towards fruits and vegetables. And yes, a family of 4 can live healthy on fruits, vegetables and grains. My true attempt of this budget will officially begin on the 5th of July. I am lowering our current grocery budget of $500 a month to $300 a month. My goal is to eventually have a $200 a month budget but I didn’t want to start too low and not have the hang of cutting corners and eating modestly. I plan on spending $160 on fruits and vegetables and $140 on grains, proteins, diapers and toiletries.

As great as Costco is for a growing family, it can also be my enemy. Snacks are one thing I am cutting majorly from our budget. Snacks are a huge waste of money. I will still buy snacks, but more in the form of carrot sticks and nuts, and not in the form of granola bars and chips. Healthy snacks will actually keep you fuller, longer. So wish me luck as I plan our meals out for 2 weeks on $150 budget. $80 of that budget will go towards fruits and vegetables. And I do have a plan on staying within budget, but won’t write about it until after the first week of shopping. If I can have self control at the store, I should do just fine. But I expect some slip ups the first go at it though.

I am so looking forward to dinner tonight. I do really love my in laws, but I think I may love cooking new recipes more ( heehee)! This recipe for sweet potato and black bean burritos is super easy. You start with 4 large sweet potatoes ( I doubled the recipe) wash and peel them and cut them into one inch squares. My sweet potatoes are triangles because I don’t know who to turn a circle into a square! Toss them with olive oil ( I used avocado oil), cumin, chipotle spice, cayenne pepper salt and pepper. Roast them at 450 for about 40 minutes. My kitchen smelled amazing while they were cooking (yes I turned my oven on during this 100 degree day, but early in the morning as I prepped this in advance. You have to prep with 2 little ones).

image

image

image

While potatoes were cooking I prepped the avocado sauce. The sauce is so easy, but I do recommend using a powerful food processor, like a Ninja, so the sauce will come out creamy and smooth. I used 4 ripe avocados, 2 limes, 2 cloves of garlic, 16 oz of medium salsa Verde made from tomatillos, and a bunch of cilantro. Yum-my. I could not stop sampling it! I then covered it in an air tight container to keep it fresh for dinner.

image

image

When you are ready to eat, heat up 2 cans of black beans, drained and rinsed ( or 2 cups black beans)

. Season them to your liking (I sprinkled garlic powder and chipolte seasoning). Stuff your burrito shell with black beans and a scoop of sweet potatoes. Add jack cheese if you wish. Then roll the burrito and top with the avocado sauce, diced red onion and spinach. Yum!!!!! Seriously cannot wait to taste this amazing concoction.

image

Until next time…
Have a beautiful day!!

