OK, so I am feeling a little discouraged. Yesterday I wrote that the new budget is going well, and that I am doing great at meal planning and not spending outside of the budget. Well, today I have a different story. I realized today, as I was FINALLY getting around to cleaning my house, that I am out of toilet bowl cleaner, all- purpose cleaner, paper towels, sandwich bags, and baby wipes. Now do I search the ads for deals or surf the web for coupons for all of the aforementioned items, because I only have a little over $20 left in my budget to spend? Nope. I go to Costco, and only buy what I need to for this week’s meals, but buy bulk in the other items I need. I spent $121. So, clearly I need to spend a little bit more time figuring out how to include toiletries in my budget. And spend more time finding coupons. However, now that I have stocked up for a while, maybe I can set aside money for toiletries every month so when the time comes for my to replenish, I don’t blow my budget by doing so. Hmm, something to think about.

On a lighter note, we got our produce delivery today! Yay!! It is much different than last week’s, and it’s thrown me for a loop as far as what to make for meals this next week. But I like a challenge like that!! How do get my two year old to be quiet while his baby sister’s sleeping, ya not a challenge I like so much. Heehee 🙂
In my delivery this week I received:

1lb full length carrots
1bunch of kale
4 red potatoes
1 lg sweet potato (will be used for Abagail’s baby food)
3 Fuji apples
1 braeburn apple
1 cucumber
3 d’anjou pears
1 red onion
5 Valencia oranges
4 apricots
2 bananas
2 red tomatoes
3 white peaches

See my dilemma?! It is so random!! But I will make it work, I will be creative!! Off the top of my head, I’m thinking of making a carrot almond salad with the carrots, a minty cucumber quinoa salad with the cucumber, a mango mustard dip for the rest of my celery, and probably a burrito and kale salad or two in there. The apples, apricots, pears and peaches will be snacks, along with nuts and fruit and veggie smoothies ( need to buy spinach and almond milk), and bagels and cereal for breakfast. I think that’s a good start. I may even make salsa with my tomatoes and onion with cilantro from my garden.

We did use up the broccoli from last week tonight for dinner. I steamed it and added it to our spaghetti. It was yummy!

image

Until next time…
Have a fabulous day!

