Well, I have to say that I am proud of myself. This week has been very successful. I haven’t spent a dime, other than on groceries. I have not driven my car, other than to the rec center on Tuesday to work out. I stayed within budget (ish) at King Soopers and Costco. I almost spent my entire two week budget, but I didn’t go crazy when I went to Costco. I stuck to my grocery list, and stayed within $90.00.

Planning our meals around what we got in our produce delivery worked really well. We had plums and nectarines for snacks, as well as celery with peanut butter and pea pods. I made homemade ice cream, twice, with fresh fruit. We have been eating leftovers for lunches, and not eating out. It’s been real nice to go to the store with an exact purpose, instead of buying something I think sounds good to eat, then have it go bad because we never eat it. Every purchase I make has a reason, an exact place in my meal plan. There’s a strange comfort in that.

Monday night we had sweet potato and black bean burritos with an avocado tomatillo sauce (below). I used 2 sweet potatoes, the red leaf lettuce, and two avocados from the delivery. It was so yummy.

image

For dessert I made homemade orange sherbet in my ninja. So delish!

image

image

Tuesday we had a wonderful couple over for dinner, and I made BBQ chicken sandwiches for our guests and BBQ tofu for the veggie eaters (below), along with a cilantro lime colesalw and grilled corn on the cob.

image

image

image

It was a very good night, and the kiddos were very well behaved which made things very easy for us. Now I didn’t really have any ingredients for that dinner, so the majority of my grocery shopping this week went to that dinner. But that’s OK, there was leftovers for us to have for lunch for 2 days.

Wednesday I had a cooking will power!! I realized we still had a lot of produce left and we were getting another delivery on Friday. So with my 2 beefsteak tomatoes, I made spaghetti sauce, on a whim. No clue how it turned out. We will find out Friday night when I make spaghetti for dinner. I’m sure it will be edible ( heehee).

image

image

I made a huge batch of fruit and veggie juice for Noah and I to enjoy throughout the day, where I used my 2 kiwis and bananas from the delivery. Noah had two cups, I had three. Yum!!

image

For dinner that night, I made an enormous kale salad with quinoa, apples, almonds and raisins with a homemade balsamic lime vinigarette dressing, accompanied by grilled potatoes from my delivery. There was enough salad left over for Levi to take it for lunch today. He said it held up pretty well. Yay for leftovers!

image

Today, I felt lazy all day. Being a mom of two little ones is hard, and this week I am wiped out. I think it’s from the busy holiday week we had last week when Levi was off. So, I made vegan blueberry pancakes for breakfast this morning for Noah and I, and used the blueberries from my delivery. For dinner we grilled and had veggie burgers and grilled zucchini (from the delivery), red and yellow bell peppers and green beans. I have to say, green beans on the grill are amazing!! If you haven’t tried it, you need to…like, tonight!!

image

Well, I still have the broccoli left, some celery and mango. The mango I will use in our salad tomorrow night, and the broccoli I will put in our spaghetti. And new fruits and vegetables will be here tomorrow afternoon. Cannot wait!! I will then plan out a new week of meals. I can only do a little shopping this weekend because I have almost maxed out my budget. But, at least I have produce coming to make it through the next week. I will put my pantry to good use this week, that’s for sure.

Spending outline:

Door to Door Organics: $33.56
King Soopers: $32.60
Costco: $57.30

Total $$ spent: $123.46
+$27.54 to spend week 2

Until next time…
Have a fabulous day!

