We had an amazing, family filled, relaxing weekend. Saturday, we went down to Colorado Springs to visit Levi’s brothers, their wives, and their children. Noah always gets so excited to visit his cousins. He looks forward to it all week and tells me what he is going to do when he sees them. The best thing about this weekend (other than the amazing company), was that I didn’t have to cook! My sister-in laws and I had high tea for lunch on Saturday (yep, our guys watched the babies while we had a nice break and wonderful conversation), and we all had dinner together Saturday night. The kids played hard ALL day. We left and Noah asked all the way home if we could “go back right now”. So awesome. Sunday, my sister invited us over for dinner, and Noah loves going over to see her little boy Riley. The two played while the mom’s ate and chatted. Levi joined in our conversation while monitoring the two boys.

Any how, I did make a few things over the weekend. I made cashew cream that I have been dying to try, but we have been gone! I’m hoping to try it Monday on some fruit or toast. Mmmm

image

image

image

image

I also made a simple spinach salad to take to my sister’s where I used half of my cucumber from my delivery. As always, it was yummy!!!

image

My sister told me about something she read online about mason jars and salad, and how they keep lettuce from going soggy and how wonderful they are for packing lunches for work/travel. And I thought, why that’s perfect!! So this week, I have been experimenting with mason jar meals. So far, I have made salads and oatmeal (yum!). I have gotten so many ideas for them, there is just not enough time/days to try them all!!! If you haven’t yet tried mason jar meals, you really should. I have packed a salad for Levi to take to work for every day this week, and the spinach won’t wilt! It’s healthy and convenient meals for a family on a budget.
image

image

Alright, now to this week’s meals. Monday, Noah and I had left over spaghetti for lunch with some fruit from the delivery. I absolutely love leftovers!!! For dinner, I thought I would do something easy. I made vegan chocolate brownie batter pancakes with blueberries and scrambled eggs for Levi and Noah. Now eggs aren’t something we always have the house, but I had a coupon for a dozen cage free eggs for free. Cannot say no tofree! Especially this gal. It was a nice break from cooking and a nice treat for the hubby and Noah. I also got to try out the cashew cream that I made. I used it instead of syrup on my pancakes. It was sooo yummy! I actually felt a little healthy eating it. Heehee

image
image

Tuesday night we had grilled vegetable and black bean tostadas. They turned out amazing! I have made these before, but tonight I created my own recipe. I broiled corn tortillas instated of buying tostadas shells. I marinated my veggies (I used one of my zucchini and green beans), made homemade salsa (where I used my cherry tomatoes and white onion), heated up a can of black beans and frozen corn with a little bit of brown sugar. Oh man yum! I then spread some homemade zucchini hummus on the shell (I used my other zucchini for the hummus), put the black bean and corn mixture on, then the grilled veggies and topped it with homemade salsa. I would have also had avocado for the top but they weren’t quite ripe yet. But it was still delicious. The flavors of the salsa, hummus, and beans blended real well.
I posted the recipes for the hummus and tostadas on my recipe page.
Zucchini Hummus
image
image

image

image

Grilled Vegetable Tostadas
image

image

image

image

image

Wednesday Noah and Abagail woke up with runny noses, and I was pretty certain Abagail had pink eye. They both, actually, were up in the middle of the night a few times. Needless to say, I was a very tired mommy and didn’t feel like cooking at all. So I veered off the meal plan and we had Qdoba for dinner.
Thursday, Abagail and Noah were up again throughout the night (Wednesday), so I was even more tired than the day before. And Abagail was running a fever and just miserable. But, I still cooked. My Aunt came over for lunch. We had salads. I used up the rest of my tomatoes and cucumber. I had bought romaine lettuce for my Aunt, and I have to say, it was a nice change from my “weeds” as she calls them! I saved the leftovers in a mason jar for Levi to take to work. I am really loving mason jars!
For dinner, I used up my carrots and made Thai peanut noodles in my stock pot. I love Thai food!! I am still trying to make pad Thai, but this recipe came pretty darn close! It’s a cheap, vegan meal that is super easy. I came across this mom’s blog who loves to cook and she has been creating “one pot wonders”. Her recipe was fabulous!
image

image

Total Spent:
Door to Door Organics: $41.99
Costco: $24.26
King Soopers: $22.89
$89.14
+60.86 remaking to spend

Until next time…
Have a fabulous day!

