You become a different kind of parent after you have your second child. You choose to let your house be dirty, you choose to shower at night after the kids go to bed because it is the only time you have. You are not bringing everything you could possibly need for the baby on every outing. Bring a mom of 2, it really is like those Luvs commercials: you learn to make do with what you have, and just go with the flow! In my case, it is learning to cook smartly, using what I have at home, and cooking as much in advance as I can. It doesn’t hurt to have simple recipe either (one that’s still healthy and not out of a box).

I came across this recipe on Pintrest and we couldn’t get enough of it! Spinach, pesto and sun dried tomato pasta salad. In my opinion, sun dried tomatoes and pesto need to get married and make all kinds of yummy recipes so I can eat them everyday. The flavors combine to make a lovely light, easy salad we paired with home made potato wedges and corn in the cob. It was a starchy dinner at the Friedly house! That’s what happens when you have random ingredients in your fridge you need to eat before they go bad.

image

image

Friday night was a real good night. I got a bike ride in, did some laundry, laughed at the newest things my 2 year old is saying and ate good food. I have been making these amazing raw (ish- I had to cook my corn) vegan tacos that are out of this world. I decided not to keep them a secret any longer. These babies are made with black beans, corn, spinach, home made cashew cream, spicy mixed nuts (that I made), avocado slices, and cilantro engulfed by a cabbage leaf, drizzled with lime and home made salsa. YUM!!! I love cooking light. My oven never turned on. And in this heat, bonus! I think I had like 3 of these…OK 10. There is a little prep work to making these, but easy easy during nap time.

image

image

image

I will try soon to post these recipes to my recipe page.

Until next time…
Have a fabulous day!

