Tea parties are way better as an adult! I’m serious. Getting dressed up, no kids, amazing company of women that truly know me and of course….super tasty food.

image

A couple months ago I sent out invitations to a few select women in hopes to have a wonderful, relaxing afternoon of fellowship, and eating fancy food. And it was everything I wanted it to be. We ate, laughed over the silly things our kids are doing and cried over hardships in life. What more could a woman ask for in family and friends? Some days, all this mom needs is little fancy girl time with some even fancier company!

imageI wanted this party to be a blessing to the women I invited. All are stay at home moms or a grandma of 13 and counting! They deserve to have an afternoon off where they don’t cook and be around people and things that make them feel good. So I decorated my tables with some amazing smelling flowers and beautiful china. We ate outside in my backyard and our surroundings could not have been better for the occasion.

image

image

image

image

My tea party menu included some of the most amazing and fun things I’ve ever made. I had a lot of fun planning the food and of course cooking it barefoot in my kitchen, with the musical talents of Ron Pope blarring on my iPod. Side note: if you have not yet heard Ron Pope’s music you HAVE to. His voice is amazing and his lyrics always make me feel like it’s summertime on the east coast. Ah!

Ok back to food. I researched how the British have their afternoon teas so my party would be as traditional as possible. Did you know that people in Englad drink 165 million cups of tea per day? That’s 60.2 billion cups per year! That’s a lot tea. First, they have their savories (sandwiches), then they have their scones with jam and clotted cream, and finally they have their pastries. I added a soup at the beginning of the meal, before savories. And of course, they have their tea! I chose to have one caffeinated (Earl Grey) and one decaffeinated tea (peppermint). I also had fruit infused water and iced chai lattes.

image

The soup I chose to start with was a Gazpacho soup from my new whole food cookbook (which I hope to begin officially cooking thru soon!). It was fabulous and full of flavor! Traditionally served cold, the girls said it was like eating salsa!

image

image

image

Every tea party has to have finger sandwiches. I made a traditional cucumber sandwich with mayonnaise and dill. I also made a caramelized onion and hummus finger sandwich. That one was the favorite! I also served an asparagus and strawberry salad with a balsamic syrup, smoked salmon cucumbers, and tofu ricotta pinwheels. Those were my favorite!! With a hint of basil and loaded with veggies, I will be making those again very soon.

image
imageimageI have a recipe for super easy, healthy vegan scones. Only 3 ingredients!! Flour, coconut milk and sugar. Bam! No 8 TBS of butter or milk, these were so simple and super fluffy from the coconut milk. I made my own clotted cream with coconut cream and palm sugar. Again, so simple! I used store bought jam to go with the cream. The best way to eat scones, is to top them with jam and cream, use your fingers and dig in!
image

image

Last but not least, pastries…..the BEST part of the whole menu. The pastries at a tea party are traditionally mini. I chose to make raw vegan mini chocolate cream cakes. I had the most fun making these things. Layers of chocolate hit my mouth and I was so happy!! I bought a special pan to make them and see myself using it a lot more in the future, creating so many mini desserts!

image

image

I am so happy I did this, amidst a crazy schedule and life right now. I wouldn’t have wanted to miss this time with these ladies for anything.

Feel free to steal any of my ideas or ask for recipes for your next tea party. It is a huge compliment to me when others think highly of something I make and they want to eat it again!

Until next time….

Have a fabulous day!

