Have you ever eaten something that made you totally change your opinion about a certain food?? That’s how I feel about this tofu recipe. Mind blowingly good. I usually don’t eat soy, and I especially try not to give it to my kiddos all that much, if any. And if you’re curious why, you can read my post about my soy here. But I make a exception for tofu. It’s a very versatile ingredient and buying organic tofu makes me feel a little better about it. 

When Levi and I were living in our condo in Denver, the Whole Foods Market in Cherry Creek was a frequent dinner option for us. I would hit the salad bar and then get my smoked mozzarella pasta salad (my mouth is watering a little bit) and Levi would get a chipotle tofu burrito, made from the chefs in the kitchen. It was super yummy. And once Chipotle came out with their version of spicy chipotle sofritas, as they call it, I thought about making my own. Chipotle’s, though tasty, is not my favorite tofu. It’s too tough, IMHO. So I started looking for recipes online and finally settled on my own version. We make this at least once a week. It’s a little spicy for the kiddos, so alter it if you need to with maybe less chipotle peppers. We make burrito bowls with it, combining it with rice, avocado, sautéed mushrooms and onions, pinto beans, corn and lettuce. Or we eat it by itself, in the morning, like we were eating scrambled eggs. Or we use it as a filling for tacos. There are so many options! I will show you how to make the chipotle tofu and you can go from there! And without further ado….

image

Start with one block of extra firm tofu (firm works fine too, but I recommend extra firm). Drain it from the water and press it between 2 paper towels to get as much water out of the tofu as you can.

image

Slice the tofu length wise and over medium heat, sauté it in a pan. This helps with creating more of a texture on the tofu when you crumble it. It should take about 5 minutes per side to get it brown. Keep an eye on it so it doesn’t stick to the pan.

image

While your tofu is cooking, make your chipotle sauce. I use 1 cup of FRESH salsa…this is important. If you make your own salsa, that would be the best salsa to use. The flavor of the sauce is a million times better than if you use store bought. In a food processor, mix salsa with about 2-3 chipotle peppers in adoboe, and use about 1 tablespoon of adoboe sauce as well, and the juice from 1 lime. Process until smooth.

image

When your tofu is brown on both sides, add your chipotle sauce to the pan and begin to crumble your tofu with the spatula as you mix in the sauce. Let the tofu cook in the sauce for a good 20 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed.

image

When the tofu is all done cooking, use it in burritos, tacos, bowls or whatever can think up. Hopefully you enjoy it as much as we do! 

Until next time…

Have a fabulous day!! 

