Nutritarian: a person who consumes a diet that is nutrient dense and plant rich, one that focuses on micronutrients intake (vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and phytochemicals) at all times. For more information click here

I came to know who Dr. Joel Furhman was by a recommendation from my sister in law and very good friend. I’ve read two of his books, Disease Proof Your Child, and Eat to Live, the book Furhman coined the term nutritarian. My sister in law truly believes in the science behind eating a prodomently planted based diet, and how it can help you lose weight and maintain the longevity of health. She has a little boy who had really bad eczema pretty much from birth, and it was by feeding him a plant based diet and focusing on healing his gut (which is where our immune system lives, and eczema is usually heightened by lack of immune system), that he is now eczema free. He’s two years old. 


There is a big difference between being vegan, and eating a plant based diet. Did you know that Oreos are vegan? A lot of foods high in empty calories (white breads, pastas, etc) are vegan, but hold very little if any nutritional value. People who want to be vegans really need to be careful about making sure they are getting all the vitamins and minerals that they need. Consulting your doctor or a nutritionist who specializes in plant based diets is the best thing to do. 

My body reacts to food. It does. When I eat good, nutrient dense foods, I have so much energy and tend to be more up beat and happy. I can handle the day after a night of being up with kiddos. But when I eat more heavy foods, particularly meat and dairy, I feel heavy and tired, and struggle with my emotions. Sometimes, I even get depressed. And this makes sense to me. Our bodies were created to flourish on raw fruits and vegetables, as well as whole grains. These are the best fuel for our bodies and our mind. Throw in foreign, processed foods in abundance , which a lot of us do (I’m guilty of it), our bodies slowly start to break down and we don’t feel as good as we should, as good as we are capable of feeling! Now, I’m not saying everyone, including myself, should stop eating the more heavy foods completely. I think it’s ok to learn self control, to indulge once and while, and allow yourself to have treats. But in essence, our bodies need those vitamins and minerals and antioxidants found in the foods of the earth (pun intended). I really don’t think anyone would argue with me about this. Studies have shown that diets high in calories, cholesterol and fats (bad fats) cause major health problems, such as heart disease and diabetes. 

So, my post is entitled The Nutritarian Experiment, so an experiment should be involved, right? Well here it is!!! In his book Eat to Live, Dr. Furhman promotes a six week plan, where all you eat is fruits and veggies, coupled with beans and grains. The purpose of this plan is, not only to lose weight (20 pounds starting out) but to recreate your lifestyle where micronutrients are the main focus of your food choices. Starting today, July 1st, 2016 I am going to start the six week plan. I am doing this for two reasons: to help jumpstart getting rid of baby weight once and for all. I want to be comfortable in my skin and have confidence again. At this point in life, I’m all about how baggy of clothes I can wear without being noticed. Second, I want to get back on track with eating. I have been eating way too many feelings lately. I cannot tell you how tired I am going to class, or gettin up in the morning, or at 2:00 in the afternoon!! I’m hoping the six week plan can restart my good eating habits and eliminate the bad. My mother in law says that if you truly want something bad enough, you can do anything to achieve it. 

Here is a quick summary of what the six week plan looks like: eat fruit for breakfast, salad is your main course for lunch and dinner, and eat at least one cup of beans and whole grains per day (quinoa, brown rice, steel cut oats are examples of God whole grains, not pasta). Eat one large serving of steamed veggies per day and as much as 4 servings of fresh fruit. Lastly, eat mushrooms and onions everyday. Did you know that mushrooms and onions are huge cancer fighting foods? However, there is no snacking, three meals a day is what you eat. BUT eat as much as you want to in those three meals. You’re not starving yourself or worried about counting calories. Stuff yourself with salad, beans and fruit. Limit your grains to one cup per day. So many people think that by eating a plant based diet, one might be missing out on protein or calcium that some think can only be found in animal products. Spinach and kale are loaded with more protein per calorie than beef (they have no calories! But are rich with protein), and you’re eating two huge salads a day. Protein should not be an issue. Oranges are full of calcium as well as dark leafy greens and almonds. If you’re eating a variety of greens and fruits, you should be getting all of the vitamins and mineral that you need. For more detail on the six week plan, click here. The biggest factor about this eating style is you’re not eating ANY sugar (besides your fruit), processed foods, fruit juice, oils (need an oil free salad dressing), snacks between meals, or animal products. Alcohol is out as well. 


Last night, I indulged on goat cheese and Portabella mushroom raviolis, and wine and chocolate. Today, I’m ready to go! I plan on starting out basic until I can get a meal plan together. Smoothies and oatmeal for breakfast, salad and beans for lunch, and another salad and starchy veggie for dinner. I’m so excited!! I will blog about this process along the way, and giving recipes and an analysis about what the six weeks plan is all about for me. Six weeks isn’t too long when you’re eating the foods you love! But staying away from foods that “comfort” me will be tough, especially if I’m having a hard time. But I’ve got a plan for that as well. More to come, I promise! 

Until Next time…

Have a fabulous day! 

