I’m grateful for so many things lately. After about a year of searching we have finally found a church that we can call our church home, without driving a hour to get there! Haha. We have beautiful, healthy, spunky kids, we have enough money to pay our bills and have a little fun, and SAVE. I have my dream home and car, and amazing family. I am getting out there and pursuing something I want and there was very little, if any, hurdles to get there. Last night, though, I realized I haven’t truly appreciated the fact that two times a day, for about an hour each time, I have no kids in the car with me. No screaming, fighting, crabby kids wanting to know if they can have a snack, or how close we are to our final destination….(are we there yet?) or kids fighting over whose toy is whose and tattling that their sister isn’t sharing with him…as moms, we’ve all been there. Having nothing playing on the radio but Ring Around the Rosy or Hickory Dikery Dock over and over again, just wishing you could hear lyrics to your favorite song, or even silence! Peace and quiet. As you stare at those kids in the back seat thru your rear view mirror, you realize that nothing about your life, even the music playing on the radio, has any resemblance to who you used to be. And that’s not a bad thing. 

For those 2 hours I have to myself in the car, I can listen to any music I want, any cd I want, any channel on the radio I want. Now, usually I listen to 104.3 the Fan, as I love the sports teams we have here in Colorado, and enjoy catching up on what’s on going with them. But, after class, late at night, I’ve been listening to music. My music. The sounds and lyrics that bring me back to times near and dear to my heart. Isn’t it funny how a song can do that? Just music and words in rhythm together, can cause my heart to flutter, eyes to tear up, because they remind me of different times in my life, good or bad. 


I was born in the 80’s, but I LOATHE 80’s music. It really needs to go away, sorry to anyone who likes it. The 90’s may have been the greatest era for music. Greenday, Bush, The Cranberries, Matchbox 20, Nirvana, Creed, 311, Collective Soul, Goo Goo Dolls. And who can forget the boy bands???!!! Those are some of the bands everyone knows from the 90’s, and they should. Their music was amazing. But I tend to lean more towards artists not as big as those mentioned above, or I find myself liking the songs on their albums that were not played on the radio. The Verve Pipe was one band that I loved. I also tend to lean towards music created way before I was born, 60’s and 70’s music will always be my fave. The Beatles, Jackson Browne, Fleetwood Mac, and the Monkees.


My Dad had a record player growing up and I loved going thru his vinyl. He had some amazing records. I have a few of them. The dust that was collected on the plastic covers, oh the years and stories those records have! My Dad loved rock and roll, classic rock is probably what it’s referred to as today. Bands like The Who, Simon and Garfunkel, The Eagles, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, The Doors and Lynryd Skynyrd, to name a few. My Dad named me after the song Aubrey by the band Bread. Yes, my parents were hippies. And they have great taste is music. The band that I always think of as “me and my dad” is Pink Floyd. One of my favorite memories of me and my Dad, besides riding upside down dollar coasters, is him taking me to see the Pink Floyd laser show at the Planetarium. The laser show was done to their album, The Wall. It was so cool!! Pink Floyd’s album Wish You Were Here is probably my favorite of all time. The song Wish You Were Here was playing on the radio one night while I was driving home from class. I couldn’t get the volume high enough!!! I absolutely love that song. I looked up what the song was about once and it’s fascinating, too much detail to get into but if you’re curious, you can check it out here. In short, it’s a song about lead front man to the band, Syd Barrett and the break down that he endured. Hearing that song on the radio obviously took me back to memories of me and my Dad, but also reminded me how much I love real good music. 


And I know every one’s opinion of what constitutes good music is different, but I’d like to share with you my top 5 bands that have either gotten me thru a tough time or hold much sentiment in my life. Some of these bands you won’t find headlining, and to me, that’s what makes their music great. Local, flying under the radar talent. 

  1. Missy Higgins albums The Sound of White and On a Clear Night 

 

Missy Higgins, in so many ways is just my go to, when I need to hear a good song, artist. And her albums stand alone with a select few of albums I can listen to every single song and not skip.

2. Ron Pope album Daylight


Ron Pope, is my barefoot in my kitchen guy, my I can cook all day long and listen to his music and have his album on repeat, kind of guy.

3. The Verve Pipe album Underneath 


4. Shaded Red album Red Revolution

This is a Christian Rock band from Denver Colorado, and I first heard their album in high school and this song and this song are still two of my all time favorite Christian songs. 

5. Third Day album Third Day

In this case, I saved the best for last. This album is the very first Christian band I had ever heard, and it literally changed my life. I have bought this album three times because I’ve listened to it so much. This album is what I think all Christian songs should be modeled after. They’re not songs you’d find in a worship service in church on Sunday. The lyrics are raw and personal and really touch your soul when you hear them. If you have never had the pleasure of listening to this album, here are two of what I think are the best songs on the album, Love Song and Thief

    Artists in the running: Gavin Degraw, Dave Marthews Band, David Crowder, Ten Shekel Shirt, Hightide Blues, Jewel and Train. 

    Until next time…

    Have a fabulous day!! 

