This past weekend, we had our pastor and his wife over for dinner. They had just gotten back from vacation. They walked into our home and told us they brought us some gifts. I was a little thrown by that, as I didn’t think we had gotten to that part in our relationship, the part where we buy souvenirs for each other while on vacation. ๐Ÿ˜„ I was so grateful, and yet astounded by what was sitting on my counter. These veggies were incredible!!! After being on vacation for 10 days, my pastor and his wife came home to their vegetable garden having produced crops fit enough for King Kong. No joke….

So why not take this stash and stock my freezer with some fresh summer veggies?? 

One thing I absolutely love to make and turn to when I have an abundance of squash is summer vegetable spaghetti sauce. It’s super simple to make, very flavorful and it gets extra veggies into my kids. Can’t go wrong with that!! Plus, I make a big batch so I can stock my freezer with this sauce and can pull it out  on busy nights for a quick, healthy meal.

First I chop the squash into cubes…or triangles if your zucchini is the size of a baseball bat. Toss it with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, garlic and pepper. This is done all to taste. Saute the veggies in a pan until just tender. Don’t over cook them, as you will be heating them further as you make your sauce. 

Once cooked, I distribute even amounts to zip lock freezer bags and allow them to cool. About 4 spoonfulls of veggies per bag. When I make this sauce normally, I usually use 2 zucchini and 2 yellow squash per batch of sauce. But with veggies this size, I just had to estimate the amount of veggies. 

Once cool, I add my favorite spaghetti sauce to each bag, about 24 oz of sauce per bag. 

Label the bag and seal with out air in the bag. Stick it in your freezer. Pull it out when ready to use and allow to thaw, heat and toss it with your favorite pasta. My kids prefer penne or rotini, something they can grab with their hands. 

My kids hoot and holler for pasta of any kind, and this meal makes them and mom happy! 

I also was able to stuff 5 quart sized freezer bags with 2 cups of shredded zucchini in each bag. These can be used with any baking I do that uses zucchini. 

Lately my favorite recipe that calls for shredded zucchini has been these chocolate brownies. But here a few simple, healthy meal (and dessert) ideas of what to make with shredded zucchini, that aren’t zucchini bread!

Until next time…

Have a fabulous day! 

