This meal came as quite a surprise, as the family wanted it this past weekend. Well this past weekend consisted of 4 days of hosting people in our home, potlucks and traveling to the Springs to spend time with family. LOTS of cooking took place this past weekend! And I enjoyed it, of course. But I didn’t have a lot of time for creativity with this meal, as I hadn’t had a lot of time to plan it. And what do you make when you don’t have a lot of time to plan and need the meal to be easy??? That’s right, you make a casserole. I decided to make something I’ve never had before, but the difficulty was not hard at all: chicken cordon bleu casserole. The only other time I’ve had real chicken cordon bleu was when my sister in law made it while we came down to visit for dinner oh so many years ago. I watched her cooking this raw, stuffed chicken on her stove like it was nothing. I envy her ability to cook like that, and the many family secrets she has in her head, that she can pass down to her kids. I don’t have many family secrets, just green chili and pumpkin cookies. Oh and how to never, ever cook from a box. And ketchup is the condiment that trumps all condiments. 

Ok, so here we go.

September Meal (Meal Number 3)

  • Tossed Kale Salad with Garlic and Lemon Vinigarette 
  •  Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole
  • Parmesan Crusted Baby Potatoes
  • Fresh Cut Strawberries with Chocolate Mousse

Now, with the exception of the chocolate mousse, I followed other people’s recipes for this dinner. I know, I know, shame on me. But with the amount of cooking I had to do, I needed to!!! But applause to those fellow moms and chefs for those yummy recipes, as the family told me the meal was scrumptious.

   I used brown rice and craisins in this salad. The dressing is sooooo good!!! Garlic and lemon seriously, were made for each other! 

This  casserole was real fun to make. I used a whole rotisserie chicken from the market (yay for them having to season the bird and not me!) deli cut ham, baby Swiss cheese, and topped it with a made-from-scratch buttery mustard sauce, and seasoned breadcrumbs. Num Num. 

I don’t have a pic of the potatoes after I baked them, but they turned out fabulous. And if you want an easy way to make parmesean crusted baby potatoes, use this recipe.

Now I have been playing around with a chocolate mousse recipe that instead of cream, uses ….tofu! Gasp!! It comes out thick and creamy without even a hint that there is tofu in the mousse, well IMO. I’ve made it 3 times now, once for frosting cupcakes and 2 other times as just straight mousse. That recipe I will not share, but I’m sure Pinterest has a few ideas out there for such an animal. 

Before I go, I hosted my cooking group this month, with a fall theme! I made fall vegetable enchiladas (well, zucchini was substituted, as my sweet potatoes with pithy and I had to improvise), and added a few homey touches with pumpkins and fall leaves scattered around my home. Can I just say that I love fall?? It’s my favorite time of the year 🙂 

Until Next time…

Have a fabulous day!! 

