Whoa what a crazy holiday weekend! I don’t know about yours but my home is filled with dragons, turtles, princesses, Mickey Mouse and everyone shouting to someone named Alexa every other minute, commanding that they do something for them. Crazy!! I decided on my down time between Christmas and New Years, to catch up on my blogs. I have like 4 of them waiting to be written/edited in my drafts folder. Let’s hope I can remember what I wanted to write about when I started them! Teehee ☺️


Any who, the family I have been making meals for decided to double up their meals in December, in lieu of making a meal for them in November. I was totally fine with that. I made them 2 meals in the span of one week. And please forgive me, as I forgot to take pics!! Given the time of year it is and how much I’ve been running, planning, cooking, working, shopping, parenting, cleaning, and kinda sleeping, pics of the food I made just kinda slipped my mind. But I can provide recipes!! Does that make up for it?? 

The first of the two meals I made in my cockpot as I was sleeping….don’t you just love crockpots? I had just gotten off of a shift, came home and stuffed the ingredients into a crockpot and let it cook all day long, while I was sleeping (not all day long 😂). 

The menu for this meal was pretty simple, but I would like to think it had a little bit of holiday feel to it, as the family was having their neighbors over to share a meal for the holidays. 

Menu: Homecooked Meal #4

  • Citrus Kale Salad
  • Balsamic and Dijon Chuck Roast with Baby Potatoes and Carrots
  • Chocolate Banana Applesauce Cake 

The meal, from what the family told me, was delicious and inviting for their get together. The Applesauce Cake can be found on my recipe page, it’s become a staple in my house and one I always keep in my freezer for company, social events or for the “just in case ” moments in life.


The second meal of the month had a Chinese food theme to it. The family was hosting two Chinese friends that they have done missionary work with over the years and asked if I could make Chinese food for them. My initial reaction was “yeah! Chinese food!” And then  I realized I have never made Chinese food before….in my life! I remember growing up my dad tried to make homemade sesame chicken using peach or apricot preserves, I can’t remember which one. It was not appetizing at all. No thank you. Well, guess what I chose to make for this family? Yep, sesame chicken!!! But I left the peach preserves at the store. I followed this recipe that I found on Pinterest, again in my crock pot and it came out lovely!! I know that Chinese restaurants, they fry their sesame chicken, but I just didn’t want to do that. It’s not healthy and it’s just gosh darn messy!! I felt the same about a Chinese dessert. The only ideas I could find was Chinese donuts…yep not doing it. So I chose a non Chinese dessert, still yummy and no complaints!! The Asian Noodle Salad is a recipe from the Pioneer Woman, gosh I just love her!! I feel like her personality and mine are so much alike! 

Menu: Homecooked Meal #5

  • Honey Sesame Chicken with Jasmine Rice
  • Asian Noodle Salad
  • Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies
  • Raw Chocolate Hemp Bars

I am not sure what the native people thought of my food (I’m not even sure sesame chicken is actually Chinese food!) but the family had good reviews for me. The pumpkin chocolate chip cookies are what my husband calls a “vault recipe”, meaning I don’t divulge the secret to the yumminess. That cookie recipe belonged to my great Aunt, and it will be passed down to my kids when they grow up. I love those kinds of things. The chocolate hemp bars, however, were kind of an experiment based on a recipe I found online. I asked the family to try them out for me as I wanted to make them for the kids at Christmas. Their response was “delicious but messy!” Hahaha I’ll take it! 

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas and has a Happy New Year! Check out these knuckleheads 🙂 


Until next time….

Have a fabulous day! 

